Call of Nominations for National Fellowship

You are here

National Fellowships (NF) are awarded to eminent retired Indian Social Scientists in recognition to their scholarly contributions and providing opportunities to engage themselves in full-time research that have the potential to contribute in advancement of knowledge in social sciences.  The National Fellowship fall under two categories -- 

Non-Specific Category 
Specific category

  • B.R. Ambedkar National Fellowship for studies on Constitutionalism and Social Justice;
  • Maulana Azad National Fellowship for studies on Religion and Society;
  • Sarvapalli Radhakrishnan National Fellowship for studies on Education and Philosophy;
  • APJ Abdul Kalam National Fellowship for studies on Science and Public Policy;
  • Sarojini Naidu National Fellowship for Women Studies;
  • Swami Vivekananda National Fellowship on Nationalism, Society and Religion.

National Fellowship is awarded by the Council on its own initiative after following the prescribed selection procedure. As per the Fellowship Guidelines, nominations are invited by the ICSSR from Vice-Chancellors of public funded Central and State Universities, Directors of the ICSSR Research Institutes/Regional Centres, present and former Council Members and National Fellows of the ICSSR. Nominating individuals should not forward more than two nominations against a Call. All nominations are to be accompanied by curriculum vitae of the scholar along with abstracts of 10 best publications and a 1000 words research proposal. 

Details about eligibility, terms and conditions, etc. can be seen in the Guidelines, which may be accessed on

Please note that direct applications for National Fellowships are not accepted.  The nominations should reach the In-charge, RFS Division, Indian Council of Social Science Research, Aruna Asaf Ali Marg, New Delhi 110067 before the last date, which is 15.02.2019.  

Member-Secretary, ICSSR